Way Over My Head

I am reading the posts in here and suddenly realize I am in way over my head! I feel like I did when I bought my Commodore Vic 20 pre Windows.

5 Likes

As was I when I joined here 5 years ago. It was this community that damaged my ignorance. Welcome!
Did you have an issue with your machine? “Problems and Support” is for opening a support ticket.

6 Likes

Not so much an issue with the machine. I just assumed the software would be more user friendly. I am a crafter not a tech person so having to learn a whole new program (or two) is very intimidating. I just want to cut my own images.

I understand. Here is a list of tutorials that will be helpful!
A popular choice for design software is Inkscape. Free and very capable. Any time you spend learning design software will pay you back in spades.
I knew very little about it, and the “Trace” feature attracted me for that reason. I came to learn that without design skills I was severely limiting myself.
The UI is actually pretty easy, once you know your way around it. It comes very quickly with use. Read, practice, and ask questions! :sunglasses: This community has all the resources and help you might ever need.

Since this place is for reporting a problem with the machine, I’ll move it to an appropriate forum.
Again, welcome to the funhouse!

7 Likes

A lot of GF users report great success using Silhouette Studio business edition, it’s very simple compared to a full vector or 3D program. If you work on an iPad - Affinity Designer has a short learning curve. You’ll get the hang of a favorite in no time :slight_smile:

5 Likes

I’m one who uses Silhouette Studio, as I have had a Silhouette cutter for many years…That program has a fair bit of capability, at least for my needs thus far (1 year w/Glowforge). If you decide to use that, I’d be happy to help you get up to speed or troubleshoot any difficulties you have.

3 Likes

You can do it! If you have any specific questions, we’ll be glad to help.

3 Likes