Well it happened - Owned 10 days, hardware failure - Pro

So, I have owned the glowforge 10 days. Made about 40 cuts/engraves with it.

Head no longer moves when powered on.

Done all the things.

Cleaned lens, cleaned laser, checked cables, cleaned bed, turned on and off, followed every applicable troubleshooting step.

I must say I am very disappointed to have spend $7k in total for it to fail within 10 days of mild use (I am still learning).

Now I must wait for support to get back to me, wait for them to remote troubleshoot (of which there likely will be very little to do since head doesn’t move), then pack it up and ship it to them.

THEN, when I get a replacement it will be a refurbished one. I have to say, I am having a bit of buyers remorse right now. I expected there not to be a complete failure this quickly. I get man made things break, I work in tech, I understand that. I guess I am just venting.

Bottom line, in my mind, a $7000 item shouldn’t fail within 10 days of purchase.

(Yes I have contacted support)

It shouldn’t, but if it’s going to fail, the first few months of service is the most likely time. That’s why there is a warranty. I went through a similar situation, but GF sup port was great, they shipped me a new unit before I returned the broken one & I have been super happy ever since. Believe me, give it a chance and you’ll love it!

6 Likes

Thanks Johnj. Just quite frustrated right now. Was just starting to get the hang of this.

I’m so sorry for the trouble.

Your Glowforge was able to connect successfully to your network, but it may be having trouble maintaining a stable connection. When this is the case, you won’t need to go through Wi-Fi setup again, but you may see an “Offline” message.

The most common solution to Wi-Fi challenges is to restart all the devices involved in connecting to the internet.

1. Turn off the computer, phone, or tablet that you’re using
  2. Turn off your Glowforge
  3. Unplug your modem