What have I got myself into?

I think I have myself freaked out. I ordered the GF and as I am looking through the images, community etc. I have a bit of buyer’s remorse. Can I do this? Is it a huge learning curve? Where do I even start? Inkscape… how hard is that to learn? What was I thinking?!? I wanted one for so long and now that it is a reality (or will be when it arrives) I am scared!
Y’all.
Help! I can do this right?
Tell me where to start.

7 Likes

You will not need a Glowforge to use and learn Inkscape :slightly_smiling_face: You could download it right away and start playing with it. I had never touched Inkscape but dl’d it and played with it at every opportunity, not looking for a finished product but trying to see what each command did., I was able to learn quite a lot, though I am still learning new things three years on.

Some folks don’t learn best that way but there is a manual you can read online as you are working and a great many Youtubes going into different aspects. I would also recommend Gimp for dealing with raster images though that is not an immediate need. A second screen is another good thing to have for placing the Inkscape or Gimp commands to not take up so much of your main screen. They are a lot easier to see what you are doing and a cheap second screen is quite enough.

When the Glowforge arrives there is very detailed instruction from opening the box to making your first three things. Follow that closely and do not skip anything as they will inform you about issues you do not currently know about, but will look like a huge problem when your first prints whatever they are do not act as expected.

The great news? Unlike nearly everything else similar you do not need to be a programmer or electronics magician to own a Glowforge as indeed I am neither, as I found out getting my first 3D printer.

11 Likes

Thank you! I am going to dl inkscape as suggested and fiddle with that.