What's the difference between Proofgrade Hardwood & Plywood?

I’ve never worked with wood before - thanks for being patient with me!

I do not understand the difference between proofgrade hardwood vs. proofgrade plywood.

1. Plywood has glue in between thin layers that alternate with grain - or is it made of glued sawdust?

A. Am I correct?
B. Does this mean it is stronger than hardwood?
C. The glue is safe (obviously, otherwise it wouldn’t be for sale) but what is it made of?

1. What is hardwood? Does this not have multiple layers? Why is it more expensive?

I just need the basics - as I mentioned, I do not have any experience with wood whatsoever.

Which one is more durable? Which one is stronger? Which one is nicer? Which one is more environmentally friendly? Will the saw dust from either of them compost?

Cheers!

1 Like

The plywood is two fairly thick veneer sheets sandwiching an MDF style core. The glue used is laser-safe. No idea if it is compostable or not, but you don’t actually get sawdust out of the laser anyway. (You get just a bit of cold ash, which gets blown over plants and actually seems to make them grow better. The decorative grass right in front of the vent outlet has shot up over the last few months.)

There is a nice satin finish pre-applied to both veneers on the plywood.

The hardwood is a solid piece of wood. They are both strong. If you want to 3D depth engrave, you want the hardwood. On the ply you can see once you have cut through the veneer and can’t wash the plywood to clean it up.

3 Likes

I’ll add to this that the hardwood can be snapped along the grain relatively easily because it’s so thin. It’s not an issue for decorative things but may matter if you need something relatively thin to hold up a bit of weight or not break under stress.