Where to get good materials for laser projects?

I’m very new to this so can some of the people with experience give us some recommended placed to find good laser cutting materials like acrylics, wood, leather, etc. I know that you can laser a lot of things but I’m sure some things and materials are better than others. What should we look for and/or avoid?

1 Like

Have you been to http://inventables.com ? Check out the Materials section.

4 Likes

Love Inventables! Zach’s a good friend. (Also a great place to get an inexpensive CNC to compliment your Glowforge). We’ll also sell materials when we get closer to shipping that you can use.

For budget options, ebay is a good choice as well.

3 Likes

Thin Boards on etsy is a great place for you to buy wood in the 1/4" and 1/8" range. Lasers supposedly take a long time to cut wood of this depth, but I find it easy if you are using solid wood instead of plywood. The glue seems to mess things up and refract the laser, taking much longer to cut (3x and burned) than solid wood, in my experience.

You can also get other materials from your local big box hardware store or craft store at a premium. I said this in another post, but never cut vinyl (including contact paper), as it emits chlorine gas and will ruin your laser, and always look up the MSDS for a material before cutting. Laser decomposition isn’t the same as burning, exactly, so you might have to dig to find info about laser-cutting a given material. I recommend looking at maker-space wikis and college laser info pages, as they are a wealth of information on materials. Here’s an example of a good one