Which Design platform to use

Hello all, Which platform is good to make designs on… I tried Inkscape and can’t get a grasp of it. Is there any other design platforms that’s easy? Thank you

I had never heard of Inkscape before getting a glowforge and I’ll admit there was a learning curve but it’s a great program if you take the time to figure it out. There are tons of good videos on YouTube that can show you exactly how to do things with it. In a matter of days you will start getting the hang of it.

8 Likes

Thank you, I’m so impatient and getting annoyed with trying to figure it out! lol, I guess I will keep trying Inkscape :sob: thank you for your response

3 Likes

I will agree with @beerfaced, I had never heard of Inkscape before using Glowforge and have tried a few other but feel it’s the easiest to get a grasp on what to do. When you get stuck, post here and there are those that are extremely knowledgeable that can help you! I’m not an expert but can get accomplished anything i need now.

8 Likes

It so much comes down to personal preference and the type of projects you want to do.
Inkscape is great for a free program but a lot of people like Affinity for ease of learning.
Adobe illustrater is the industry standard but comes with a hefty price.

If you are doing practical things you might consider CAD or 3d modeling software. I use Fusion 360 but there are other good cad programs also.

6 Likes

Just remember what ever platform you use, there will be a learning curve with all of them.

6 Likes

I use both Inkscape and Silhouette Business. While SB costs, it’s a modest one-time fee and a little easier to learn than Inkscape. Silhouette also has a free edition, but I personally opted for the Business Ed. Like the others said though, there is plenty of very knowledgeable people in here that can help you with any problem you have.

6 Likes

Look up a YouTube channel called ‘Logos by Nick’, he does a great series of tutorials for Inkscape.

8 Likes