Width and Height difference

I am fairly new to laser cutting [had my GF only a couple of months now]. Before I open a support ticket, I had a question about width vs height.

Is there usually a difference between the width and the height in a cut. What I mean is that I made a circle in Illustrator that is 1.5" by 1.5", saved as pdf, cut the file… and the resulting disk’s width [according to my digital callipers] varies from 1.5090" to 1.4965". OK… what’s a 1/64th [or less] between friends… but now that I am trying to have disks rotate in cut circles, the disks can not fully rotate because of the slightly ellipsoid shape.

I noticed this on even my first cuts, but wasn’t thinking that I’d need to worry about less than a 1/64th. I have checked that there is no noticeable dust stuff on the rails or belts. Before I contact support, is this difference normal? How close should the two measurements be?

Thanks
Andrew

There’s a good discussion here.

In-general, it’s accurate to about 1/1000" in both directions. 1/64" is not typical.

1 Like

I believe that the laser arm is out of square to the Y axis travel. Try to cut a square and see if the corners are 90 degrees. Out of square arm will distort the circle.

1 Like

I would investigate your design software as a difference in the scaling at the last digit could make that difference.

1 Like

BTW, 1/64 th of an inch is a lot when you are rotating circles within circles. The clearance from loosest point to tightest point is going to be 1/32" In machinery that is so far out of round it would be a complete show stopper.

Thank you – and Aha. Indeed a square is not square. I also thought about rbtdanforth’s point about the design software idea… So I cut a GF Software created square of 1*1 – and the resulting cut must be trying to compensate for the kerf, but it is also not square – it is 1.0055" by 1.0010". I will sort through some of the Support, try their “Perfect Squares - Squaring the Laser Arm” as my next stages.

Andrew