Windows or Mac, based on what software is available

Hi, I use Macs a little more, but I have Windows 10 machines too (I’m an IT Manager). But I’m wondering is anyone using one or the other with their Glowforge. I would probably always choose to be in a Mac environment, but their hardware lately has really gone downhill (one port?!). I was checking out Artcam and it is Windows only. I was just wondering if any other software packages were being used that aren’t necessarily available on both platforms.

I have an Adobe Creative Cloud license, so I have access to Illustrator. I’ve used Photoshop for 20 years, but the latest version of Illustrator I feel completely lost. If I just want to clean up vectors, is Inkscape better than Illustrator? For just cleaning up paths, Illustrator 2017 feels terrible clunky.

Don’t want to start an OS flame war, but I think we’re all way too mature for that…

1 Like

I installed Inkscape (mostly in an attempt to help with Inkscape files) and I can’t stand it on my Mac… YMMV. I’ll take Illustrator any day of the week.

4 Likes

Ditto. (I’m used to it though, YMMV.)

Tony - I use both Mac and Windows 10. I only have an old version of Illustrator on my Mac, but I’ve been using Fusion 360 on both platforms I also have Inkscape installed on my Mac, but really don’t like the way it works.

I’ve also used the web based version of Gravit a couple times to move parts of SVG files around, I don’t think I would us it for original design work.

For me as an IT manager it really doesn’t matter what system I’m using, just get the job done using what ever I have available.

By the way @tonybarnhill , how did your trail sighs turn out?

I installed it too, along with X11. I thought it was kind of terrible. I tried the Windows version too, didn’t think too much of it.

Since you two are Mac users, what about other vector software?
Sketchup
Logoist
Affinity Designer

Tritto. (It’s a word, or so I’ve been told)