Won't cut to the edge of Material

Newbie here. I have only done a couple projects on my GF, but I notice a problem already. When I place my design on the material IMAGE on the App, it seems to be within a quarter inch or less to the edge of the board. HOWEVER, when it cuts it is actually an inch to an inch and a half away. Whats up? Is this a calibration issue? Camera issue?

Normal. Currently they do not allow edge to edge cutting, as the laser head needs time to decelerate.

2 Likes

If it is cutting an inch and a half away from where you placed the image on the screen, you definitely have a problem. The current accepted variance is within 1/4", and that assumes that the material is flat and that you have entered the correct height of the material in the Unknown Materials slot for non-Proofgrade materials.

You might want to capture a screen shot after a print that shows the image, the cutout results, and the rulers in the shot, so that folks can take a look at it.

1 Like

I thought he was 1.5" from the end of the material, not from where he placed the image?
i.e. the image on the GFUI is Not 100% of the material, so it would look like it’s farther away?

1 Like

I have noticed that the lower I put the material in the bed, the more accurate the top space is. Here is the image of my latest design…

Here is the finished print. This is closer because I pushed the material all the way to the bottom/front of the bed. Not sure how that will effect the prints on the bottom of the board

Okay, that’s actually correct. What you are seeing is a fish-eye effect from the lid camera. There will be less distortion if you place your objects to be cut directly underneath the lid camera in the center of the bed.

And @Houdini7 is correct, I misunderstood what you were saying about the cuts falling farther from the edge than you were expecting.