Won't print on board

HELP: I made this cutting board and I want to engrave one of my recipes on it. However when I place it in the glow forge (after taking the black rack out) it says it doesn’t meet the settings requirement to print and dismisses the print. The camera does go over the board without touching it. Any ideas on how to fix this issue.

2 Likes

Raise it up a bit. You need to get the surface between (about) 1.3 and 1.8” off the bottom of the machine. You’re coming in at right around 1”, so put three sheets of proofgrade under there and you’ll be just fine.

Alternately anything else that’s about that thick, 4 dice, one in each corner? Umm a decently thick book?

Then use set focus and you’re good to go.

5 Likes

how do I do the set focus. I am new with this machine and I am beyond lost if I have to go beyond the auto settings, LOL

https://community.glowforge.com/search?context=topic&context_id=55715&q=Set%20focus&skip_context=true

Just search the forum for set focus, there’s a great deal of info about it.

1 Like

ahhhh. I got you, because I took the black thingy out the height is off. I was reading into it to much thinking the machine was telling me it was to tall because of the height of the board. Duhh I had a blonde moment. Thank you for the help :slight_smile:

3 Likes

The board is beautiful. I hope you will take a little time to understand how your Glowforge works before attempting to engrave on such a pretty piece of wood. It is so tempting to just jump in, but ruining material is costly and frustrating.

There are many tutorials and tips and tricks here in the forum. It is critical that you understand how to setup your machine for proper use. Your material must be within the focus range of the laser. The focus range is measured from the top of the honeycomb tray - from .01" to 1/2". When you take the tray out, your material must be in that range for the laser to focus on it. It looks like you will have to raise your board about 1/2".