Wood crayon box

I want to share with the Glowforge Community a little crayon box that holds 24 crayons. After many failures and a lot of glue, I think it has turned out well. It was made with 1/8 inch Baltic plywood. This is my first time posting and I hope that I’m doing it right.

Small crayon box -test 3 with wood.zip (3.0 KB)

162 Likes

What a nice little box! I suppose you could also leave out the piece with the holes and use it for recipes or index cards. Thanks for the design!

6 Likes

I’m just starting out with GF. Did you design the box yourself, or use one of the online box creation sites? I’m particularly interested in the hinge and creating a dado for the shelf with holes.

2 Likes

Hi, I started with an online box creation and then used CorelDraw to “tweak” everything. There are 2 shelves with holes to keep the crayons standing upright. I found that 1 shelf let the crayons fall over and would get caught in the lid. There are small pieces of wood that I glued inside to keep the shelves in place. I’m new also but I love GF.

8 Likes

Nice design and thanks for sharing!

3 Likes

What a nice box for crayons or any number of things. Thanks so much.

5 Likes

You are absolutely doing it right! What a great box!

5 Likes

turned out really nice thx for the design :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Oh, very cool! I think I must go buy some crayons now! :grinning:

5 Likes

Really nice! Thanks for sharing. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

Very nice design - love what you did with the lid. Thanks for sharing!

2 Likes

What a lovely design. Another application that I hadn’t thought of. Thanks for sharing.

3 Likes

Thank You for the share. I will make on & give to my Great Granddaughter .

1 Like

Love that! is there a sharpener in the back? :wink:

3 Likes

Oh, that is very nice! I love the little holder inside…I will have to make a few of these for young friends for Christmas! Thank you for sharing your file…

1 Like

Oooo that’s nice!

1 Like