World Maker Faire, Grant, and Pro Email

So, about a month back, you’ll all remember the announcement of the Glowforge Maker Faire grant. That post, along with my infinite love for all things maker, inspired me to apply for the World Maker Faire in NYC in September. Many moons later (and ten days beyond the promised date) I finally heard from Maker Faire and was accepted. (YAY!) I built a small website just to showcase my leather work which was the discipline I used to apply. (https://arkansasbespokeleather.squarespace.com/) You can hover over the images for descriptions.

I have no previous experience with lasers, other than desperately wanting one and seeing the potential in them (and especially the glowforge with its user friendly interface).

This week, I moved on to the next step and applied for the Glowforge grant with Bailey, which I was lucky enough to receive. (YAHOO!) I got the email from Bailey yesterday which was promptly followed by the golden email. To my surprise, my Pro is being shipped. (WHAT!!!) I assumed I would receive a pre-release unit to work on a bit before the show and to travel with; though, I do recognize the folly of shipping me two separate units in short order, and since pros are shipping…… I’m still a little in shock.

The email was pretty straightforward leading to a four page online form.

Page One - Do you want your pro? What’s your address? Remember your filter is coming later.
Page Two – Here’s all the cool stuff we’ve done that you’re going to like. I skipped ahead of this page in my haste to complete the form. I tried to open it in another browser tab first to review later but found that it didn’t work. Luckily, you can page back to it after completing the form, which I did. And now I’m afraid to close my browser.