X-carve or Shapeoko or?

Hi, I’ve had my GFPro for about a year, and I’m thinking of getting either an x-carve or shapeoko xxl to compliment what I’m doing on the GF. I cut whatever, then engrave. It seems there are a lot of complaints about x-carve’s rigidness, but it looks like their software/store is a similar model to Glowforge. Does anybody have any advice or opinions? Today is the last day for Black Friday sale at Carbide3d and it saves me over $400 for shipping so it’s a good time to buy.

Thanks

I have no experience with any other CNC but I’m quite happy with my X-carve.

1 Like

I just pulled the trigger on a Shapeoko!

4 Likes

I have a shaper origin, which is an interesting option.

It’s quite flexible, but you need to do all the guiding yourself, which can be a bit tiring.

3 Likes

I’ll be very interested in how it works out for you and what you use it for. I am still dithering about making my own or buying. I have had the electronics and motors for a while. Just not sure what I am going to use it for. Belts and pulleys are fine for wood and my motors a ok for that, but watching the folks do aluminum and stuff with mills. I guess start with the easier stuff and work my way up.

2 Likes

I know it is probably an unfair bias by me but I don’t like the idea of belts with a CNC, yeah, I know the :glowforge: and my 3d printer are using belts but they don’t have the back pressure that a CNC router has.

Anyway, you have pulled the trigger so let us know how it works for you.

4 Likes

I have been happy with my Shapeoko XXL. It’s much more rigid than the x-carve machines. Being more rigid generally means more precision and repeatability.

I recommend getting that addon kit with tracks for hold down clamps, and the touch plate.

4 Likes