A question for model railroaders

I’ve been working for a couple months on some things I plan to give my mom and sisters for Christmas. These are based on an LED candle lantern I bought for $5 at Aldi, and disassembled to removed the fake candle part. I made tiny HO scale houses to go inside, based on the pattern I used for this house.

Actually I made three of them:

I had to extensively redesign the house since it was too big to fit in the lantern otherwise.

The tiny LED bulb from the original candle goes up inside the house, so when you turn on the switch it lights up:

Okay, so here’s the question. I’m thinking it might look even better if I added a little snow to the scene. I’ve got a package of model railroaders snow here to do it with. But I can’t decide. If I do, it would only be appropriate for display in the winter (which is probably okay). And the other thing is I’m afraid of screwing up the job. They look pretty good right now, what if it requires years of experience to get good looking snow on a model? What would you do?

57 Likes

That’s so cool! Love the magical lit-up look in minatures.

Glad there’s a cat for scale, they were SO tiny in my head until I saw the cat.

Try adding a little cotton just to see if you like the look… No harm in trying!

7 Likes

Oh.M.Gee! That might be one of the cutest things I’ve seen on here! Very squeeee! :squeeee::squeeee::squeeee:
(I’d go no snow…it might obscure the details.)

7 Likes

That’s actually a tiny model kitten too. The only true scale measurement here is a banana.

Oh, and these are incredibly cool.

10 Likes

Try it on one and if it doesn’t turn out give it to the sister who … I won’t say it here, but she knows what she did. :wink:

8 Likes

THIS IS AMAZING! very nice! well thought!
I’m sure they will love it! :clap:t2::clap:t2::clap:t2::clap:t2::clap:t2::clap:t2:

4 Likes

These are delightful! Kind of wish I was related to you, too!

4 Likes