Affinity designer with glowforge

Can anyone help me. I’m new to affinity designer and glowforge. I have created this shape in Affinity designer I have converted to curves burt when it gets pulled into glowforge a square is filled. I wish I could add a pic here.

Just drag your picture (or the file if you care to share that) into a reply box so we can try to help you.

2 Likes

I use AD. If you’re getting these two settings backwards, it will do that.

Screen Shot 2021-11-19 at 2.24.30 PM

The circle in the foreground is the ‘fill’…the black circle behind it is the ‘stroke’ (the single line). If yours looks like this

Screen Shot 2021-11-19 at 2.24.58 PM

then your square will be filled and there will be no stroke around it.

If there’s more to it, please let me know and I’ll try to help you.

1 Like

Ok Thanks! Another person messaged me and said it’s a problem will Glowforge. Told me to upload it as a pdf. I’ll try that. Appreciate you taking time to respond.

Absolutely not a problem with the Glowforge. I urge you to learn why it happens in AD. Using a PDF will not correct the problem you’re having. Just curious, why are you converting the square to a ‘curve’?

3 Likes

Based on the private message exchange it sounded like the old Glowforge bug with not supporting SVG fill rules correctly, which tends to hit us AD users when we use shapes with cutouts. Hence the suggestion to try using PDF, as the Glowforge software is better about supporting both rules correctly in PDF files.

5 Likes

Can I send you the image somewhere it will be easier to understand.