Air Filters, question about the need

Hello all,
So, I have a Jewelry store where I hope to setup my Glowforge. When I originally made my order, I added on the air filter, as we are indoors. After some redecorating, I now realize the Glowforge will be near our polishing machine, which was a large filtration system with an extended vent. I’m new to laser cutters, but our laser solderer works fine with this kind of setup. Am I underestimating the need for the air filter? Or can I do without it?
Thanks
Russell Bauman

3 Likes

If you already have extraction and can feed the GF into it, I’d be inclined to do it. Think of all the lovely laserable materials you can buy with the savings.:grinning:

4 Likes

All of the Pre-Release users are currently running the machines using only external venting, since the filters are not ready yet.

There’s a bit of smell after the operation is completed, when you open the lid to the machine. But while it is running and venting outside, I can’t smell a thing. And I sit about eight feet away from it.

Haven’t tested the filter yet though, so can’t give you a comparison.

The external venting is through a 4" dryer type hose.

5 Likes

Thanks! So, um do I email them to cancel that?

1 Like

Don’t have the link right off hand…wait just a second…

1 Like

I think you need to email support@glowforge.com to cancel just the filter. But I could be wrong. I couldn’t find the option on the website.

@rita?

2 Likes

Yeah, I can’t find it either…but emailing support will work too.

2 Likes

I would talk to Glowforge personnel about your situation before canceling, in case you’ve overlooked something.

5 Likes

There’s a bit of smell after the operation is completed, when you open the lid to the machine.