Animation Software suggestions or advice?

I have zero experience animating anything, but I want to put together a 30 second youtube video (explaining/promoting Levitada). I’ve viewed a bunch of youtube reviews of animation software and I’ve played around with some “try before you buy” ones, but I thought I’d ask here to see if anyone has advice. My priorities: keep it very simple to use and relatively inexpensive. The “whiteboard” animations look fun and easy (I’m looking at VideoScribe but wondering if there are others which might be better).

I also figured out how to use some “make an MNG / collection of png image stills into a video” cheap software in combination with Inkscape. In Inkscape I create 2 shapes (for example, a simple square and then a complex 7 pointed star), then use Extentions/generate from path/ Interpolate which creates a bunch of “intermediate steps” of the transitional phases between the square and second star. I can then export each of those as a .png, then connect the .png’s together into an “MNG” animation with some cheap software which can then export into video formats. But, still, a 30 second animation going image by image, even with that handy “interpolate” extention may be a long/slow process… so, I’m thinking the “whiteboard” animation stuff might just be simpler and quicker.

thoughts? warnings? advice?

(btw, learning some animation is another thing to keep my off the streets/busy/having fun before the GF arrives)

6 Likes

Prezi.com does some cool stuff with animation into a presentation and you can use your own graphics.

2 Likes

Blender works. You can do some pretty neat things with it, but since it’s built to do 3d modeling and some other stuff it can feel a bit complicated. Totally do-able, though, if you are willing to put up with that.

Video Editing
Blender even comes with a built-in Video Editor.