Battling for 3D depth mapping

As you likely saw I recently started playing with 3D engraves again. And finally decided that it was time to try a 3D engrave of my own design (i.e. not just download a depth map and print it). So I read the posts on here about using the 3D depth map renderer on MeshLab to take an STL (or other mesh) and produce the depth map. Now it was completely useless. First off whatever programmer made those horrible sliders for minZ and maxZ is just a terrible person. The difference between nothing and clipping is like 1 pixel on screen. I was getting really frustrated. I saw a comment in some forum somewhere that the Windows version of MeshLab worked better. So I put in on my Windows 10 VM on my Mac and gave it a try, and while I don’t quite understand what those sliders do (I conceptually understand, but that didn’t seem to match the 3D model on screen) I got a reasonable output. Then exported that as a screen shot as a PNG and did the rest of the layout in Illustrator and then rendered that out as a PNG:

Here is the model to start (in prusaslicer as it does a nice job displaying STL files for screenshots), and for those who are curious these are the crossed cannons in the center of the US Army Field Artillery seal.

I will post an update after the 3D engrave finishes. I was considering doing this on the X-carve except that right now it is apart as I upgrade the steppers to 269oz motors and the belts to 9mm GT3 belts (real Gates brand too!)

9 Likes

Straight off the machinery

10 Likes

I’m surprised you didn’t get more depth - though just pumping up the contrast might do that…have you cleaned it yet?

1 Like

You could always try using Blender to make a depth map. Here’s a relatively recent process:

2 Likes