Beautiful Complex Geometry possible?

Hello,

im an architect + artist and sometimes i like to push technology to its limits :joy:

I use my glowforge to prototype my projects, I’ve recently dove really deep into geometry and managed to create a SUPER DUPER complex design and was wondering what is the best way to make this into reality.

I’ve been having trouble with it for months now, i keep simplifying the design until it became dull. im going to share one of the 8 panels i designed in the hope that your beautifully bright minds can help me with the best way to tackle this issue :smiley:

file format sugestions and perhaps if i should raster or expand the vectors and join them ? any help will go a long way

thank you

2 Likes

Well now that you’ve got our attention… Where’s the file? A zipped .SVG is usually best, but you may also want to add a raster image for casual thinkers.

3 Likes

“complex” can mean lots of things. 2-d work versus 3-d work is where complexity can go from “manageable” to “omg this is a nightmare”.

Look forward to seeing your design.

1 Like

7 Likes

OK just looking, the resolution on this picture is pretty low, but if it’s islamic line art (like it appears to be), you’ll be pushing some serious density. Basically the GF laser has roughly the resolution of a laser printer, so if you are pushing too much detail to get good results on a laser printout, it’ll be similarly muddy on the GF.

And that’s if we’re talking engraves. With cutting, how “detailed” your cuts can be depends a lot on the material. Too detailed can lead to fire risks, etc.

Anyway, as of now, I’m afraid there’s not much more advice I can offer; I’d need to see much higher resolution images and more detailed explanations of what you’re up to before I would know what to say.

3 Likes

That looks awesome, I imagine one of two things are (or will be) going on with this.