Can't Figure out how to make engrave not do two shades

I am new to the machine.

I am wanting to engrave the following SVG. but I don’t want the gaps to be a different shade such as the middle of the O, R, and E and parts of the image. I just want engraved and non engraved rather than tones. In CNC software I could manually select the paths and tell it what to do, but how do I make that happen in the GlowForge Software?

You don’t…you make it happen in the design software of your choice before you load it into the Glowforge User Interface. (All design work happens in your outside design software.)

Is it a raster image or a vector image?

2 Likes

You will need to ensure that those parts are a different fill color in the SVG. That allows you to engrave separately. Or make them the same color.

Is this really a bitmap in a containter SVG?

Vector. Does it have to be raster to have that control?

No vector is fine. The engraves are based on the fill color for vectors…you will get a different operation set up for each colored fill.

So you can control it that way in the GFUI, or, and this might be easier, set it up as the black and white result that you want it to be in the design software of choice. (Illustrator, Inkscape, Corel, etc.)

1 Like

InitialTileM

Here is an example of a pure vector of what you are looking for.

The font is PN Stars and Swirls Monogram. Once you make the Initial and the name text, turn it into paths.

If your design is a pure vector, post it here. We can fix it. Looks like it has some extra fills or something, that is making the top of the M all the same color.

3 Likes

One thing that might not be evident…for things like the centers of "O"s and "A"s you need to turn those into a compound path, and actually subtract out the centers from the engraved areas, or the interface will interpret the centers as being filled.

There are a couple of getting started tutorials here that explain what’s going on:

5 Likes