Delay length

Has anyone else been waiting for longer than 3 years? We ordered our Basic with Air Filter in October of 2015 and now the adjusted delivery is not until the end of July 2019. Any further back and it will have been 4 years!

We are a small school and our students are pretty discouraged (not to mention graduated!)

2 Likes

Where are you located?

1 Like

The Air Filters are holding things up as you could have had delivery a year ago of just the Basic. I would still be waiting if I had opted for both only.I bought this early on to have something and it will clean out a large room even aside from being fed directly from the Glowforge.

A box with a 12 " hole in one side and 4" on the top would move all that air through and solve your problem now and be useful for a wide variety of other needs later even if you kept all three parts

2 Likes

Los Angeles

Los Angeles (Pacific Palisades)

Hi again,
Sorry, I am a little new to air filtering. We can not do ventilation to outside as we are leasing our building. Are you saying that we could make a safe, makeshift one from a box as you describe?

1 Like

Yes, I believe so as it has big charcoal filters and a HEPA-filter that it moves air through at twice the volume that the Glowforge puts out. So it would do at least as well as the official filter. Fitting a 4" hose to the intake that is 10 inch on the inside and 12" on the outside has been my biggest problem that I have not built that box as yet. However, when the previous machine exhaust broke down and filled the room with smoke the machine cleared the room in a couple of minutes just sitting out in the room. Even the popcorn popped in the kitchen was cleared before it could cross the room.

It is designed to clear much more than the output of the Glowforge so it can do a very good job. Of course, you have to keep the filters up etc. but it can be at least as good at cleaning, though maybe a bit noisier, but not terrible, or much more than the machine.

1 Like