Engrave a line in Inkscape

Hi everybody!

I got my GF around Christmas and until now, never had the time and opportunity to work with it. Until this week. So armed with a lot of enthusiasm and no knowledge of Inkscape, I began to work on a project. As you can well imagine, things aren’t going too well :slight_smile:

I watched a lot of tutorials and read a lot in the forums but I am still stuck. I tried to make a bitmap copy but the result was not pretty. The worst is that I know it’s a simple thing but I can’t manage to do it.

In my image, I want to engrave the black line. But when I choose “engrave”, it becomes a solid object. Can someone explain to me how it’s done? Please remember I’m very new to Inkscape.

Thanks!

manoir%20shingle

Are you cutting out the red lines?

In order to engrave the black lines from a vector standpoint, the easiest thing for beginners to do is to turn just the black lines into a Bitmap copy. Which you have already tried. But engraves on thin lines like that generally don’t turn out very visible.

You can either thicken the stroke style on the lines before you turn it into the Bitmap copy (which will give you a thicker engrave) or you can try just using it as a Score instead of a cut, which will be darker, but still thin. (You can convert the cut into a Score if you do not make a Bitmap out of it.)

Hi Jules! Thanks for answering me.

Yes, the red lines are for cutting. That I have no problems with. :slight_smile: I will try again the Bitmap copy with a thicker line. Maybe with all my experiments, I got things wrong. It is a lot to learn in a few days.

I will tinker some more later on and will let you know about the result.
Thanks again!

You can also try and set the red engrave step to score. That might give you what you need without going back into inkscape.

1 Like