Fonts

Hot topic in the past… number 1 rule as I see it, do what makes you happy and be darned with what anyone else thinks.

But - you’d be surprised at the difference proper font selection can make :slight_smile:

Here are some tips I ran across today on some “rules” (more like suggestions) to consider to keep one from making “bad” font choices.

30 Likes

Where were the warnings about becoming a social outcast if you use Comic Sans and Papyrus? :wink:

15 Likes

I am no designer, and I have 5-6 go-to fonts. I use Garamond for most things. I am delighted that there are rules or guidelines for someone like me that would like to choose well.

7 Likes

16 Likes

Interesting article! Thanks for that. Also, I had never heard of Adobe Spark before. Are you using any of the apps?

1 Like

Those are good tips presented in a fairly easy to understand way.

3 Likes

only internet nerds care, as evidenced by comics sans’ refusal to quietly exit stage right in corporate signs the world over

4 Likes

Funny, there’s a typo in the caption for the picture on the right in #8 :slightly_smiling_face:

That text is aligned on my left. If course maybe it’s like metric and they meant it’s aligned to the other right.

Are you kidding? We use an IM app at work for work for certain team communications. I deliberately use Comic Sans for the sole purpose of being evil.

9 Likes

@martinell.jan here’s an article right up your alley!

1 Like

I pretty much only use the desktop collection. I may download the Spark collection to the iPad just to see what it’s about!

1 Like

I would say that they missed the mark a bit on this example. The “proper” version on the right should have a fixed polygon (rectangle) behind the text. For the example they show it just looks messy, and of these two versions, I think the one without the background looks better. A box instead of the highlight would look much better.

Aside from that, a really solid article.

10 Likes