Frustration over svg file filling in

I have imported an svg file to engrave. Everytime I print the file. it print with the outlines being filled in. I just want the outline that is pictured in the svg file, nothing filled in. I have no idea why the glowforge keeps filling in the image. Any ideas?

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum.

The Glowforge does not fill in the image. The file is made incorrectly for what you want it to produce. Do you have a vector graphics program that will open the file so that you can modify it?

4 Likes

I am new to svg images. I used inkscape to look at the file. When I look at the file on inkscape the image is not filled in. What would I be looking for that may be filling it in?

2 Likes

Are you able to change that step to “score” instead of engrave?

4 Likes

Yes I am

1 Like

Can you post a screenshot?

2 Likes

1 Like

All of your steps are set to “engrave” which means filled in. You need to change them to “score”.

4 Likes

This file appears to be a picture which means it will engrave. What does it look like when you click score instead of engrave on the left side operations? If you haven’t already worked through the Glowforge tutorials I strongly urge you to do so.

3 Likes

The original file (as seen in the screen shot above) had colors in it. I took them out leaving me with this file, which also fills in. world map svg Black

2 Likes

This is what that file looks like when I import it into the glowforge.

1 Like

I think what you’re missing here is that there are more than one “flavor” of .svg file. You can’t score (or cut) a raster image, it would need to be a vector file for that. It looks like your file is still a raster image embedded inside the .svg file.

It’s confusing (and I still can’t work with a vector image worth a bean) but that’s what the problem seems (at least to me) to be

4 Likes

world_map_roy_v1

7 Likes

this one should work

5 Likes