Glowforge shut down mid print and won’t turn back on

Good morning forum,
Last night I was printing a simple design on my glowforge basic and during the print the gf stopped firing the laser, moving servos, and powering the fan; it was acting like power was off but it was in fact still on. I looked at the app for print progress to see if there were any errors and it was still counting down the timer on the print as if it were still printing. The outlet still has power and I even tried another one with verified power to no avail, my gf still won’t work and comes up as offline on the app. Sounds like it may be a power supply issue to me as nothing is working electrically but I’m not a glowforge expert (contacted support but waiting for a reply). Has anyone else seen something like this while I wait for support?
Thank you,
James

Uh-oh! You might want to check all the cable connections at the write up here, but otherwise it sounds like something support will need to look into.

Also, just FYI, by posting here in “Problems and Support” you’ve opened another support ticket. For future reference, it’s best to do one or the other (post here or email), not both, as creating duplicate tickets can slow things down. (Plus they’ll just close this one and we won’t get to find out what the issue was to add to our own knowledge!)

The fan that cools the electronics on the right side would run at idle with a bad cable connection to the lid, head, or even the left side circuit board. Only two possibilities that I can think of: no power to the GF; or a failure at or near the internal protection circuitry. If there is power at the GF end of the electric supply cord and there are no lights or sound inside then it’s on to Support.

1 Like