Help Please!

I’m a newbie and I have read the forum to nauseam. Maybe I missed something?

Project is to engrave a logo and persons name on a cedar notebook. I need to make sure this all lines up perfectly. So…

I was going to cut a trace outline of said notebook and that way I would have a specific place to place notebook and be very accurate of the placement of graphic to be lasered.

So I traced with black sharpe the outline on cardboard did a bed trace. All looks great (Pictures)
I send job and the laser cuts no where even close to black lines (left: 3/4" off, Right: 1/2" off, Top: 5/16", Bottom: 1/4")

Anyones help is appreciated. Thank you

1 Like

Were you very precise in entering material thickness for the cut? Since you have read the forum, you have probably already seen this post, but it has helped me so many times with alignment: A way to improve object placement

2 Likes

Make yourself some rulers that match the marks in the UI. There are plenty of samples shared here. When you cut and score those, you will now have guides that will give you perfect alignment when you use the reference marks in the UI.

2 Likes

Thank you! I haven’t seen this and will try it, so many posts on the site, in which have helped me out in other ways!

I was precise and used digital calipers to take thickness measurement and inputed the info into the setting prior to cut.

2 Likes

Hmmmm…okay, let me see if I can explain it to you…there is a slight variance in where the cutting happens from where objects appear to be located on the screen. You can see that in your example above…the actual cut is approximately 1/4 inch to the left of the view shown on the screen where the design is placed, correct?