Jagged Edges - Suspected Mechanical Problem

I’ve made 5 attempts now at this engrave. All 5 tries have had slightly different results, but always bad. They all started out fine, but about 5-10 minutes into the print, these jagged, stair-step edges start. And the whole thing design is leaning left. One time, I thought everything would be fine then it looks to have skipped to the left slightly. I tried cleaning the machine, no help. I thought maybe my file was corrupted so today, I recreated the whole thing from scratch. Same exact problem. Using PG maple ply. Any ideas what the problem might be? Oh, for what it’s worth, my machine doesn’t seem to recognize PG materials anymore. Help!

i am no expert but my guess is either your laser head is not seated properly or the belts or guides that drive it left and right are not properly tightened/ aligned . I had something similar and one of the wheels that helps guide the laser left and right along the cross arm had jumped out of the track.

3 Likes

Check your belts and tracks to make sure there’s no debris anywhere that could be throwing off alignment. With the machine off, try moving the head as far as it can go to the right and left, and see if you feel any resistance anywhere.

If none of that yields any useful results, Support will probably want you to print a Gift of Good Measure on PG draftboard, as far to the right as possible, and then post a photo of the results.

4 Likes

I was so hopeful. I cleaned it again, paying close attention to the belts and tracks. Ran the Gift of Good Measure on PG draftboard and everything was perfect. Tried my file again, scaled down, on PG draft. Absolutely perfect! And then, I scaled it back to original size and tried again. Same exact issue! Why? Why would it be okay when scaled down, but not original size?

Is it an artifact in the file? It looks like jaggies from upscaling a BMP file. If you upload the file I’d bet someone would have you fixed in minutes :slightly_smiling_face: