Laser engraving not centering on target

I recently got some slate coasters from Amazon and thought it would be cool to engrave them. The images came out awesome with the setting I found in the community.

The only problem I am having is centering. If I place more than one coaster on the tray, the center one comes out perfect but the ones on the sides are off center to the middle of the bed. I tried 2 sets. Square and round. The first set, square ones, were placed 3x side by side. The center one was perfect. The left one was a little to the right and the right one was a little to the left. The round ones were placed square. 2x2. They all came out offset to the center of the bed. They all hit the coasters just fine with no overlap but weren’t centered.

Could this be a focus height issue? I’m new to the laser thing and am having a hard time with non Prograde items.

It’s a “fisheye effect” of the lid camera issue, and the only way around it with 100% certainty is to create a jig for placement. (Or do each individually directly underneath the lid camera, or do each individually after using Set Focus on each coaster…I guess there are several methods now.)

First thing you want to do is run the ReCalibrator if you haven’t done it - it improves overall visual alignment dramatically. Then if you want to do a bunch of coasters at one time, use Set Focus in the center of each coaster, align your design visually, then use Set Focus again on the next coaster, align that one, etc…

I find it easier to cut one jig and then drop the items in and boom, they’re all done, but if you don’t keep a lot of junk cardboard around, you can use Set Focus to do it now. :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

Searching for “coaster alignment” would yield this:

Search is your friend.

(It also finds a lot more)