Living Hinge Gone Wild

Full disclosure: I’m a newbie, so this may be ho hum to a lot of you.

While waiting for my GF, I read a bunch of posts about living hinges. Never being one to leave well enough alone, I thought, “if wood can bend around a corner, why can’t it bend around all the corners?” 28 iterations later (I was trained as an engineer, my numbering system lets me know this), I produced the first finished version of what I was aiming for.

Next I decided to see if I could do it a smaller size (the first one is ~3.5" in diameter).

Then I thought, “I wonder what this would look like in acrylic?”

Hmmmmm…I don’t like that so much. What if I tried clear acrylic instead?

Much better.

And then it was Xmas:

Each of the three designs - large wood, small wood, small acrylic are slightly different because of the properties of the material. The large wood box needs a locking ring around the top to keep the sides vertical, while neither of the smaller boxes needs that. Both of the wood boxes need a ring inside the top to facilitate ease of use, while the acrylic top works simply with a ring engraved in the top that fits onto the sides of the box.

73 Likes

I like it, it’s a nice take on the concept.

Now, about that Papyrus… :wink:

12 Likes

Yep, you are definitely an engineer if you design by iteration! Great job on it! :smile:

5 Likes

You living hinge is great. Nice finished product!

5 Likes

These are beautiful! Love seeing what happens when engineers create.

4 Likes

Oh I love these. Nice work. Obviously looking forward to seeing what you come up with next :glowforge:

1 Like

I thought that wasn’t a thing anymore - the acrylic anniversary sign & frame someone posted last week had papyrus on the bottom and no one mentioned it :slightly_smiling_face:

4 Likes

We must remain vigilant.

(just kidding, make stuff with Papyrus if you like it :slight_smile: )

5 Likes

Handy and attractive. Good project.

4 Likes

Is Papyrus a no-no?

1 Like