Living hinge issues

Hey all, I’m still trying to get my sea legs on with my glowforge by trying new things. I used an extension to design a cylindrical living hinge box (I’m new to living hinges), however when cut, it seems so burned and delicate. Attached are pics of the hinge top side (cut side) and bottom side (side facing away from laser) and this sections is about 2.5" x 8.5".
It’s 1/8 birch plywood and I did use masking to “minimize” burning but I think thats all burned away. Regarding settings, I’ve read to just use the preset settings for plywood, but when I do that there are way too many sections the laser doesn’t go all the way through the wood, so I had settings set to 120 speed, full power, and focus set to .125. Are my settings too wrong somewhere, or is the design too small, or something else?
Any help or suggestions anyone can give is greatly appreciated!
Sincerely,
Cliff

I’d guess the design is way too intricate. I’ve never cut “living hinges” but had similar issues with really delicate designs.

4 Likes

I agree with @eflyguy , I’ve had this happen before. Is there a way for you to increase the spacing in the extension on the cuts you are making? That should markedly help… plus that’s a pretty slow speed…

3 Likes

here is a screenshot of the extension… I can change the cone height, and the diameter of the small circle and large circle, but it doesn’t let me change the spacing of the LH… I guess I can go in and do it manually (which seems tedious, but easier than creating the whole thing from scratch).

1 Like

Thinking outside the box here - set all dimensions to 1/2 (1.5 thick, 35 small/35.5 large) then double the size of the resulting design.

2 Likes