MacBook Air etching snafu

So I just tried to etch my brothers new MacBook Air. (New two weeks ago, so not the recently announced model). I cancelled it after about 3 strokes because the image was about half an inch to the right and off center. It didn’t get bumped, and after I cancelled it the image that popped back up on the screen was exactly what I wanted.

Look below and to the left of the D and below and to the right of the S… you can see the etchings there.

I set it at full speed, 68 power and 340 lpi

I set the computer on 1” of stacked proofgrade materials and set my height at .1” because the MacBook is supposed to be .6”

I’m new to this and haven’t done any work other than from the Glowforge store on proofgrade stuff.

Any idea why this happened?

It is unfortunately normal for the image you see in the app to not be perfectly aligned with where the laser will go. When placement is critical you need to take additional steps. For example, you can tape paper to the top of the object, and zap a super fast, minimum power outline of your art to see if it lands where you intend. If not, scoot the object, and test again.

It is unfortunate, but that is how it is for now.

6 Likes

You can also put a bounding box around your design the exact size of the laptop in a different color, register a piece of cardboard on the bed with tape or magnets and cut the box out ignoring the engrave, put the laptop in the hole and run the engrave.
After you remove the cutout and close the lid, the new image of the bed will show the design displaced. Ignore that. If the cardboard jig hasn’t moved, the design will register perfectly.

Nice save on the first attempt, and great result! :+1:

6 Likes