Made a new project - Not sure how to finish it

Hello everyone,

This is my first time using hardwood on a project and I know there are a lot of posts about finishing, but I don’t know which options to choose.

I’d like to oil these woods (wenge and padauk) so that the wenge darkens and the padauk turns more red.

I’d also like to seal and protect this piece.

I did design and make these myself. Any help is appreciated!

Thank you,
Justin

40 Likes

First of all, nice design, but especially that planchette is outstanding.

I’m a big fan of wipe-on clear satin polyurethane.

It is very forgiving, very tough, and will bring out the colors like you’re hoping.

Here you go, a project in walnut and padauk finished with satin poly.

and

and

and more:

https://community.glowforge.com/search?q=%40evansd2%20polyurethane%20in%3Afirst%20

16 Likes

Thank you!

Those turned out beautiful!

3 Likes

That’s really fine work there. Congrats on your first hardwood project. I love that moth, and the gems on the board.

9 Likes

Those are fabulous! That the grain on your wenge points to the alphabet on the ouija board is :chefskiss:

Definitely try out finishes. I’ve fallen for a ~50/50 mix of pure tung oil and mineral spirits (the addition of spirits makes it soak in & dry faster)

This was the box that cinched it for me - I was really hesitant to do anything because the wood already looked lovely but…
/uploads/db6859/optimized/3X/8/2/821e1622e94b8573099c5cd17d8241084d82981d_2_1035x427.jpeg

13 Likes

I keep hearing about this tung oil and mineral spirits combination; I am going to have to try this!

Is it best for hardwood, or is it just as great for plywood?

Can it be applied before the cut, or is it best for after?

6 Likes

yeah, I’m going to try evan’s method and the tung oil method on some scrap pieces today after work. Looking forward to it. Right now I’m sanding down the edges and the top of the planchet

6 Likes