Money to burn

The latest projects off the vacuum tray, paper is a lot more fun when you don’t need to think about flyaways or complicated setup. Everyone should make one of these things :slight_smile:

44 Likes

I guess so… I like the experiment. I love it when one is willing to take one for the team and push the envelope.

6 Likes

Cheaper than proofgrade! Nicely executed.

11 Likes

Well that’s just super cool. I will absolutely be building one of those… One day. Thanks for the inspiration!

2 Likes

Ouch. But true.

Love these designs!

1 Like

Is it? Hmm let’s see:

Dollar bill area: 16.0254 square inches

That means it’s 6.24 cents per square inch.

Medium Proofgrade plywood is $16 for 240 square inches, or 6.66 cents per square inch.

So yeah it is cheaper than proofgrade. That’s kind of hilarious.

28 Likes

Great response!

6 Likes

But less “sturdy”. And cutting a dollar bill is closer to cutting fabric than paper.

2 Likes

Hi there, I am new to GF but would love to learn more tips about cutting paper and not having flyaways. How did you build the vacuum tray? Thanks for your time! :blush:

I talk a lot about to over on the vacuum tray thread that I linked above. Head on over and read through it, and if you have more questions just ask in there :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thanks! :slight_smile:

1 Like

I’m not sure, but I think you may have committed a felony… at least twice. :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

3 Likes

Nope. It’s a myth that defacing or destroying currency is illegal. What’s illegal is altering it in such a way as to make it seem like a different denomination. That’s why you can get pennies pressed into innumerable souvenir designs at nearly every tourist trap of note. You can destroy it as much as you want, just don’t try passing the $1 as a $10 bill.