Need a little design help with a Dominion lazy susan

So I’m creating a lazy susan for our many, many, many games of Dominion that we have coming up (we have 14 sets to dig through!) and I’ve stumbled upon a very generous person who posted a CAD file for this beautiful object:

The issue I’m having is trying to figure out how to break this up in the laser so I can cut pieces. It’s 2’ in diameter, so obviously I can’t jam a board in there and say cut. I do have a Pro so I can utilize the pass through slot and thought about just dividing the board in 1/2 and going that route.

I am a woodworker with a full shop, so any manner of pieces / glue ups / etc doesn’t at all scare me, but I don’t want it to look like Frankenstein when I’m finished, I’d like a nice, consistent look. Here’s what the CAD file looks like:

Again, my thought is to just split it in 1/2 and use the passthrough. I’ll stack layers to get the overall height needed, and I could grab 2 sheets of proofgrade Walnut for the top layer to get a nice consistent look. Or I have some amazing burl veneer I could glue to 1/8" baltic birch, but I’d need to do that in normal 12x20 panels. I just can’t wrap my brain around 4 different panels, but that might be the easiest. Perhaps small notches in each panel to hold them together with the glue up.

Any other brilliant design ideas here? Thanks in advance!

13 Likes

You could do it in pizza slices pretty easily, and even do some fun tricks with the butt joints to make them more attractive:

9 Likes

I’ll also say that the picture of the board at top isn’t the same as that cad screenshot. There are significantly more “slots” on the outside rim, which makes for some pretty thin connections. As you cut something like this, especially in hardwood, you can have some nasty weak spots depending on grain orientation to those thin bits. I’m probably not telling you anything you don’t know – you’re a woodworker so this is likely on your radar already.