Need help cleaning up photos

Still a newbie here, but love everyone’s posts and projects your all so talented. I wanted to engrave these two photos on wood for Christmas but not being tech savvy they need some cleaning up, if anyone could help me it would be greatly appreciated I tried a test run and it was not good

Use the forum search function for “preparing photo for engrave”.
Here is one of many results. (How I Prepare Photos for Engraving Using Photoshop)

There are other examples with different software, but essentially the same process.

6 Likes

‘Cleaning upa’…are you wanting the background removed?

@PrintToLaser has it right, you might find this useful too, check out #9:

3 Likes

Yes I would like the background removed. Any help greatly appreciated!
Lori

Here’s a bit of cleanup-background removal then adjusted levels for more black/white and midtones and sharpened it quite a bit. There’s quite a bit of noise in the pic and it’s not too clear (a bit blurry) but i think it should engrave ‘fairly’ well. Hope this helps. Good luck!

BTW, what a little cutie!

9 Likes

Thank you sooo much I really appreciate it. This is a pic of my late son in law lost to suicide and my grandson, making a remembrance for his mother.

2 Likes

Oh wow. What a precious picture. And kudos to @rvogt for background removal.

5 Likes

Sorry for your loss! That will be a wonderful piece that will be treasured. I hope you will share it when it is done.

4 Likes

So sorry for your and your family’s loss.

3 Likes

Thank you all, I will definitely share when it’s done :slightly_smiling_face:

So, I’ll add a few things to what everyone is saying.

First, the best way to get a good result is to start with the best possible picture. This picture has a challenge, I suspect it is a reflection that makes an unfortunate washed out area: