Need Help: Finger Joints Creation

I really (really) like working with finger joints. They’re such an elegant solution, and I’ve used them for many boxes and trays and even false doors (I’ll be posting about this in the coming days).

But I have a real hard time making these myself on highly custom files. I’ve read everything I can find on this site posted, and just can’t seem to come up with a mental model that helps me grasp how to do these with the correct kerf adjustments and all. I’m an expert in Illustrator and a beginner in Fusion, but I’ve created something I’d like to make with box joints. Below is a screenshot and I don’t mind sharing the actual file.

It’s basically a floating shelf with a false back to allow cables to be passed out behind and up through the top without being seen.

Is there a non finger joint method that’s better I haven’t thought of?

3 Likes

Here’s how I do them:

4 Likes

If you’re okay using finger joints on it, a couple of the guys here wrote a tab generator plugin for Fusion that works a treat…otherwise it would take a little longer to create the tabs and kerf adjust it in Illustrator.

5 Likes

Rabbits? Suppose etching out the rabbit (channel) as a router would do could work.

1 Like

Yes I actually considered this and realized I’d need to test a few runs for depth and hope the wood is consistent, I know generally with rabbits you need at least a third of the thickness.

1 Like

Yes I’ve been on that topic since around when it was created, I think we even went back and forth in that post though I could be wrong! I have the latest version installed and it doesn’t seem to work the way I’d intuit. I seem to be having troubling wrapping my head around how to get it to work with the design I have, especially the inner wall, I’d need fingers on the piece and holes in the sides, etc.

1 Like

Quite possible…I’ve slept a few times since then. :smile: