O Scale Model Railroad structures from pictures?

`Hello!

I am very excited to see the delivery time drawing near for my Glowforge!

The reason for my purchase is that I really enjoy building my O Scale Model Railroad (https://www.facebook.com/NSHDRR/). I have built several wood and plastic kits/kit bashes and even made a few buildings from scratch based on actual buildings.

I am thrilled with the prospect of designing buildings and then having my GF engrave and cut them out for me to weather and assemble allowing me to expand on my Operations Sessions!

This got me thinking . . . Will the software in GF allow me to scale the photos to 1:48 and allow me to create models of actual buildings based on photos I take? If the answer is yes, I might just go ahead and have a heart attack at an abnormally young age! If the answer is no, would I be able to achieve this though Sketch-up (Yes, I am a totally novice, novice!)

Thanks!

20 Likes

Wow, that’s some gorgeous work!:relaxed:

If you want a two dimensional render of the building (as in a really tiny photo of a flat building) you would be able to scale it down and then maybe cut out around the flat picture of the building, but that’s all the GF software would be able to do.

If you want to create an actual 3D model of the building, you’ll need to get involved in some kind of 3D modeling software and re-create it in 3 dimensions, break it into parts that could be cut out of flat materials like plywood, and then cut and engrave it and assemble it.

(Hopefully that saved your life.) Chuckle! :wink:

I’m not familiar with Sketchup…the program I’m using now for 3D modeling is AutoDesk Fusion 360. (It’s free for hobbyists although you have to re-register annually, very powerful, and there are lots of Youtube videos on how to use it.)