Photo engraving settings for wood slab

Hi! Im still fairly new to GF and Im trying to do a photo engraving on a wood slab (not sure the type of wood). Ive been playing with all the settings and testing it out on the draftwood and I cant seem to get it right. It either comes out too dark or too light. Does anyone have an engraving settings template they could share with me please? Im about ready to give up… Any advice, recommendations, suggestions, tips, tricks, etc. would greatly be appreciated. Thank you in advance!

1 Like

Photo engraves are not easy because the successful process begins with properly preparing the photo. Once that is accomplished, it is time to dial in engrave settings for the material at hand. Your material is problematic in that it seems uneven and will, therefore, result in an uneven result. You will need to remove the honeycomb tray, prop your slab up so that the surface to be engraved is between 1.5" and 2" from the floor of the Glowforge. The surface to be engraved must be level to get a good result, and it looks like the underside is irregular. In addition, you have a rather large crack running through a pretty big area of the slab.

What I am saying, is that this is not a beginners project. A good place to begin would be to share the photo you wish to engrave so that experienced users can give you advice about its prep.

7 Likes

If you are just trying to change the color of the engrave, there’s a trick you can use…

Do one pass using higher speeds…that will give you a very light colored engrave. Then without opening the lid or touching the piece of wood (Do NOT move it) and without changing the design placement in the software, hit the Print button again. It will repeat the print in the same place and make it a little darker. If it’s not enough, you can do it a third time.