Proofgrade Kerf Vs

Hello. This is my first post. I jumped into the deep end from the get go and hopefully will be able to share some of the cool fruits of my learning but I do have a question that I was not able to find an answer to on these forums (as I lurked along).

So I recently learned (far too late) that PG material settings have kerf settings built in. Are these settings automatically applied and can they be removed?

I have been doing mockups for a couple designs on 1/4 MDF from Home Depot. It works great under the “Thick Draftboard PG” settings but my tabs and slots are too loose no matter how much adjusting I do on the SVG file (Inkscape Noob here too).

I guess my question is really this: If I have little intention of using PG materials, should I just design, test cut and adjust using all custom settings? Just as another aside, does anyone have good settings for mockups using Home Depot 1/4 and 1/8 MDF as it is so inexpensive and easy for me to get.

Love this community and your awesome work. Digging the GF a lot. TIA.

I think you’re wrong here. Possibly existing catalog projects were kerf adjusted, but the settings by themselves don’t affect kerf adjustment on paths.

4 Likes

Nope. They don’t account for kerf. It was discussed at one point, but they never did it. You can do your own kerf adjusting. The kerf on the laser is 0.2 mm or so for the 1/8" woods.

1 Like

Also this is precisely what search is for, look up mdf settings and you’ll find a lot of posts.

Also, controversial opinion: ignore all settings posts and just learn a good testing routine, you’ll never have to ask again.

2 Likes

Thank you.

You might find these useful

1 Like

Also, if you are using Inkscape…the method for kerf adjusting your own files is here:

2 Likes