Punisher Paddle

My wife found this paddle at Hobby Lobby for $5 and some change (after coupon). I decided to have some fun with the Punisher logo. Maybe we’ll hit up some of our teacher friends and see if they’d be interested. LOL

29 Likes

Our HS principal still had (and used!) a paddle like this when I graduated back in '78. (Small-town Texas was slow to conform to the move away from corporal punishment). His was longer and thicker, and had 1/2" diameter holes drilled in it to reduce wind resistance. :neutral_face:

I never had to experience it, but some of the guys in my class were well-acquainted with it, and took pride in comparing how many “lickings” they’d had. (Tradition was that after it was used on you, you got to sign it. Because THAT was going to make rebel kids want to mend their ways, right? :roll_eyes:)

10 Likes

Our gym teacher had a paddle, if you really want it to work, you drill large holes in the paddle to reduce wind resistance. The paddle moves faster and hits your a** a lot harder! :slight_smile:

Also, the pattern of red marks on a person’s behind is a lot more artistic with the holes in the paddle. Kids were bare bottomed when paddled.

Ah, the ‘good ole days’! I can still remember the crack of the paddle sound echoing thru the locker room!

5 Likes

I don’t remember the whole paddling thing fondly. But that one is very cool! :smile:

3 Likes

Our principal had one made out of a baseball bat. The round handle and grip were the same, but then above the handle it had been cut flat and sanded (to maybe 3/4 or 1 inch thick), with about 20 or so holes drilled through. He was a big league ball player out of college recruited by the Royals, so he could really swing that thing!

4 Likes

Sheesh. Where did you people grow up? :scream:

4 Likes

Rural Tennessee…I can attest to the efficiency of a paddle with holes… it does make you want to change your ways. (Or work twice as hard to not get caught! ) Or so I’ve read… Yeah that’s it. :sunglasses: