QOTD from Glowforge: Tell us about the computer(s) + touch devices you want to use with your Glowforge

Happy Holidays, folks!

We want to be sure we build software that works with as much hardware and software as possible (Macs, PCs, touch devices of various kinds, etc). We’d love to understand more about the machine(s) you want to use with your Glowforge. Ideally, be as specific as possible. I’ll start:

For hardware:

A MacBook Air (13-inch, Mid 2013) running El Capitan
1.7 GHz Intel Core i7 w/ 8gb RAM
graphics card: Intel HD Graphics 5000 1536 MB

I also have an iPad Air and (soon) an iPhone. I haven’t done any design work on touch devices (if I was a better pen artist, a stylus might have more allure), but I think it might be nice to print stuff from the Glowforge Catalog via touch. I’m not sure if I’ll need that given that my computer is right next to where my Glowforge will live. Big question to you-- how excited would you be to use your Glowforge via touch devices?

For software:
I’ll be using Adobe Illustrator, AutoDesk 123D Make, Photoshop and the Glowforge Catalog to make laserstuff! A lot of my fellow designers have ben telling me I need to start using Sketch for vector work, so I might explore that. I haven’t used much 3D software other than a little SketchUp.

On touch devices, I don’t use any design software (do you?).

1 Like

Hardware:
Mac Mini (2012) 10.10.3 (beta)
2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce GT 740 4095 MB

iPad Mini (9.2) /w 53 Pencil (Mine) (used with AstroPad)
iPad Mini (9.2) /w Wacom Intuos Creative Stylus (Spouse) (used with AstroPad)

Software:
Adobe Illustrator, Fusion 360 & AutoCAD 2015

The game plan was to leave one of the older tablets iOS devices or a RPi /w a touch screen next to the Glowforge for quick ops and status.

Hardware:
PC Windows 7pro
CPU Intel i7 4790k @ 4 GHz Quad
32 GB Ram
Nvvdia GTX 770
1G network CAT6

Software:
Rhino
Gearotic Motion
Photoshop

1 Like

Hardware
Ipad version 2