Random Lines in Acrylic Engrave

Yesterday I cut the same file twice and both have random lines in them. The first had a couple of smaller vertical lines in it. I cut the second one due to the small lines in the first and the second was far worse with horizontal lines all the way through the letters.

The file is exactly the same file and the lines are completely different.

(The odd texture you may see behind/through the acrylic is my beat up table it’s sitting on. Don’t let that distract you)

I’m not an expert at all, but are the files in .pdf format? I believe that some of the other types can have an interlacing effect, and sizing the prints may have shifted the line, possibly?

They are SVGs.

Here’s the file I used both times.

not sure if/how this would affect it, but i get a font error when i open the SVG in illustrator.

Mentari:

An unknown problem occurred.

AvenirNext-BoldItalic:

AvenirNext-Bold:

now, i don’t see any text in it, but it’s odd that i’d get that error. and if the GFUI sees text, it will usually error out.

you also have a random no fill/no stroke line outside of the cut line off to the right. it’s about even with the top loop of the es in the name. but not even with what looks like the score line i see in your final print.

what does it look like in the GFUI?

when i select all in AI, this is what i see.

definitely a couple of awkward things going on in your file.

Like i said, I’m not expert, so that was just one suggestion that I have heard before. Another thought i had is, did the acrylic have a light line in it before hand? Also, was the cut turned the same way in the GF each time, or maybe rotated 90 degrees the second time? If it was rotated, the line could be in the same place, suggesting maybe a small bit of obstruction on the track, or in the belt at that point.
Yeah, the errors that ‘Shop’ had are a bit suspicious.

The “font errors” could simply result from the fonts used not being installed on his computer.