Simple Marble Run v1.0.5

This is my first attempt at creating my own SVGs. I drew them in markup (text) and tested them in Chrome. Then I used Tinkercad to virtually put them together. I used Inkscape to put them together (like Tetris) in a single SVG for uploading to Glowforge.

I used https://geargenerator.com/ to draw the outer lines for the gear SVGs. I then modified them to my needs.

This was a fun process and I learned a lot. I am a web developer, so writing the SVG in markup was easier since I am used to writing in that language. Once I work out a few more kinks, I hope to upload the SVG, but it would need instructions for putting it together (otherwise it is a crazy puzzle).

I was able to fit it all on a single 12"x20" proofgrade draftboard. It is all pressure fit together (no glue, yet) plus two (2) machine screws (#8-32) and three (3) machine screw nuts and four (4) washers (spacing the wheel axel).

I used 1/2" chrome steel ball bearings.

I might try to replace the wheel-axel screw with a printed axel in a later revision to reduce the need for extra hardware. But, I think the screw in the crank handle is still the best implementation due to the stress of turning the crank.

Thoughts or suggestions?

49 Likes

That looks really awesome. Well done.

2 Likes

Neat contraption! Can you explain what you mean when you said

3 Likes

I think he wrote SVG in a text editor and opened it in Chrome to make sure it looked right.

3 Likes

Wow, you designed these SVG files by hand? Very impressive indeed!

And what an awesome marble machine!

2 Likes

Boggles the mind you designed this in markup! Well done!

2 Likes

Incredible! Props to you, sir!

2 Likes

You are correct. I wrote the SVGs in a text editor. I used some graph paper to draw out some of the structures to make it easier to calculate some of the point coordinates. And used Chrome to test out the results.

3 Likes