Skipped photo engrave

Hi, I’m very new with my GF. I just used a link someone in the GF community shared for a jigsaw puzzle. I added a photo, and the names of my children on top of the photo. It only engraved the names and cut the puzzle pieces, and did not not engrave the photo at all. The order of the steps were the names first, the photo second, and the puzzle last. I used medium draft board. Does anyone know why this happened??

HI. Double check the settings for the photo engrave part…the power may have defaulted to ‘1’…which won’t do anything. There’s no way a photo engrave in addition to cutting and text for that would take only 4 minutes.

2 Likes

3 minutes to complete the job would be a tip off that something was wrong as an engrave this size would be quite a bit longer. Did the machine act like it was engraving over the entire area but not actually fire the laser? What file format is the photo? Is it possible you have duplicates of the photo layered on top of each other?

3 Likes

It is possible also that the photo engrave area is outside the allowable print area. Doe the photo area light up when you select it in the interface? If you move the entire project over to the right does the photo light up when selected?

11 Likes

Yup.

Pretty certain your image is outside the engrave area, so it will be skipped.

5 Likes

This.

4 Likes

I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve hit this snag!

I’ve extracted the log files from your Glowforge to review this print. It appears the engrave step that you configured for the photo may have been placed outside of the engrave area. This will cause the step to be skipped, as the Printer Head needs space to “speed up” to start the engrave.

Would it be possible to move the photo engrave design closer to the middle of your material, and see if it engraves properly?

Let us know how it goes!

2 Likes