Stuck in Cooling Down

My GF is stuck in cooling down mode… it started the first cut of the day and did about 5 cm before going into cooling down mode… it did sit idle for 20 minutes before starting

It is not a hot day

Current room temperature is 20 C

The cable to the printer head is securely in place

There is no blockage to the vent on the right side underneath

The filter at the back it totally clear and blasting out air

The exhaust hose goes horizontally straight to outside and is completely clear, no bends or blockages

It’s been in cooling down mode for over 20 minutes a couple of times

The laser head is not hot

I have switched off and restarted several times

This is a refurbished machine

There is no excess smoke

Same material as I’ve been using since I’ve had a GF 2 years

Can you help?

20ºC seems like it should be cool enough…the temperature that really matters is not the head, but the fluid in your reservoir, so if you’ve been doing a lot of lasering and it’s a basic model, it could theoretically have gotten warm enough to throw an error. There could also be warmer air coming in your vent hose, making the internal temp higher than the ambient temp in your room. If you have a thermometer you can stick inside the closed machine it might help to see what the temperature actually is nearer to the cooling fluid.

There’s also a chance you could have a bad temperature sensor. Support will be along soon to weigh in, hang in there!

thank you for your reply

It’s about 18C outside… a cool day

There is simply nothing inside the machine that is warm let alone hot… everything is cool to the touch

Well, yeah, but remember “cool to the touch” means pretty much anything below 37ºC, so… :wink: A thermometer will give you more accurate feedback.

I just put the thermometer inside on top of the cooling box… its 18c

Darn. Sounds like it may be a sensor issue, then. :frowning:

Whats the usual fix for that?

Send the machine back? (for a third time?)