Which computer program do folks recommend?

I’m new to the Glowforge and wondering if there was a particular design program that more experienced user would recommend. I have some experience with Coreldraw. Any suggestions or advice? Thanks for your help!!

The 3 main design programs I have heard people using are: Adobe Illustrator, Inkscape and Affinity Design. Many people are also using Silhouette, CorelDraw, Vectric Vcarve/Aspire, photoshop.

2 Likes

Inkscape (2D) is free and a powerful vector program
Fusion 360 (3D) is free if you’re a hobbyist and not a store
I use Paint . net (2D) for my raster stuff

Affinity Designer gets a lot of love on these forums :slight_smile: Honestly, I’d go check out some of the tutorials on the individual programs and see if some make more sense than others. So much of finding the right program is finding the one that was designed by people whose brains work like yours! I, for instance, was never able to use GIMP successfully despite it being a great program :man_shrugging:

5 Likes

In that case it’s probably easiest to just stick with CorelDraw. It works great with the Glowforge so if you already know it and own it, you might as well use it. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

CorelDraw will be fine. There are a bunch of us here.

(We do tend to be bilingual though because they’re are a lot of monoproduct people we interact with :grin:)

3 Likes

like 3 of you now, right? LOL :smiley:

5 Likes

Inkscape is very powerful, and free, but in some ways it is aggressively weird compared to popular commercial offerings. I found it to be incredibly aggravating because I was already familiar with other software that worked differently. Others love it. YMMV.

Affinity Designer, on the other hand, was similar enough to the stuff I already knew that I was able to become productive very quickly… Almost like they are trying to steal market share from a certain big company that begins with the letter “Adobe.” :wink: