3D Object Slicing - 3D Engraving Clean Miter Joints

Hey everyone! I’m new to the forums. My name is Alan and I am primarily a 3D artist currently getting my Master’s in Fine Arts. This semester, my university was able to get a Glowforge, and I ended up taking a fabrication class where my professor really wanted us to push the Glowforge to its limits. Being a 3D artist, I immediately started looking into ways I could create large-scale 3D projects with Glowforge, and now I wanted to share my journey here and show how I created a full Dice Set and a 3D Torus all with the Glowforge! I know this is very lengthy, but it was quite a process and wanted to share everything I learned.

As I was doing my research, I found that, just like with 3D printing, one of the main goals of artists who use the Glowforge is often to make their product not look or feel like it came from a laser/3D printer. For example, most 3D Printers have a very layered effect that is aesthetically not appealing. We typically try to hide that effect as much as possible once it is finished by filling and sanding. Well most 3D Glowforge pieces use slice forms. This gives the same low aesthetic quality, but the biggest issue is that it is very difficult to hide the slice form after it is created. It is basically what you are stuck with aesthetically, and I believe it keeps many people from wanting to use Glowforge for projects like this.

So, my goal was to create a 3D slicing method that would generate miter joints that would be at the correct angles of the 3D mesh and connect like puzzle pieces into a fully realized clean 3D object! This ended up being a much bigger challenge than I had originally planned for, but it was a great learning experience, and I wanted to share it here with everyone else.