Camera Calibration

Hello, I just got my GlowForge pro and I am loving it so far! I got mine two days ago, and I was wondering since its new, do I need to perform a camera calibration on the machine? Or it should be calibrated already? Ive done a lot of engraving and tests and they seem to be accurate in terms of placement but if I need to calibrate my camera then I will do so.

Thanks in advance!

Welcome to the fun! You don’t need to, especially if you’re happy with alignment now :smiley:

6 Likes

Your username is interesting, Care to share what it means?

1 Like

If you are happy with it, then no need.

Many of us had issues with material placement, especially at the edges. This meant you had potential for a lot of wasted material, especially nearer the edges of the bed.

okay thank you!

Hey, gilbertslettering is my instagram handle. I am a calligrapher and lettering artist and I bought my glowforge to make wood cutouts of my own lettering to make custom signs, caketoppers, backdrops and such. :slight_smile:

15 Likes

I see, thank you! I thought it was a process thats mandatory before using the machine! Thank you!

It’s definitely not mandatory - but “within spec” for the factory is within 1/4" and the camera calibration got many of us to within a mm - so it might be worth it :slight_smile:

As a calligrapher this might be of interest to you: Engraved Cutwork Scroll
(I still haven’t calligraphed it, waiting for someone who wants something from that period!)

1 Like

Nice! Can’t wait to see what you make. I’m a great admirer of lettering.

1 Like

I thought maybe that was it.

I’m not on isntagram, post some pics :wink:

2 Likes

Here are some of my glowforge and non glowforge projects I have done :slight_smile:

39 Likes

wow that is perfect for when i do wedding vows for clients thank you!!

3 Likes

Gorgeous work! Thanks for sharing!

2 Likes

Gasp! Your work is stunning!

2 Likes

Thank you sir!

1 Like

Thank you!

Nice work.