Cutting from back of print - Needing replicable results

Hey Everyone!

We recently purchased our Glowforge in order to cut out samples off of our printer (8.5in x11in sheets). After printing on one side, we would need to cut and score on the backside in the exact location to the print on the front - because we can’t have the scores showing on the front. While I am still learning some ins and outs, I’ve read the user manual and I’m not having any luck solving this problem. I’m wondering if anyone has any tips for a solid, replicable process, where I can cut from the back side and have it match up perfectly.

Things I’ve tried:

• Punching holes from the front to show on the back and attempting to adjust the cut from there. (I was desperate!)
  • I created a rig to go in the bottom left of the cutting bed, lined up my printed sheet from there, and entered exact x and y coordinates. But the problem is that portions of the preview are being cut off and my x&y is conditional to that previewed image. The rig is brown, the paper is white, and I think it’s clipping it because of the differences in material? Contrast maybe? Plus, the jig is a tad thicker than the material we are using.

Problem solving ideas - not sure if there is a way to attempt them:

• Blind cutting? If I can bypass the need for a preview and just enter coordinates, I think I could get it to work. I think the need to only work within the space of what the preview is showing is where I’m being limited. Anyone know how to turn this feature off and just enter the x and y?
  • If I had a jig that took up the entire space of the bed, but with a cut out where the 8.5x11 sheet would go, would that allow the preview to show the entire bed and allow me to just enter those coordinates from there? I don’t necessary want to waste the material with another experiment… my own hang-up, I know!