Design newbie seeks help for first project

Hi folks,

As a complete newbie to all things laser, I am wondering if you have any advice on what would be a good first design project to create from scratch, and what sorts of things to take into consideration along the way.

I need some project ideas that will help me learn just a few useful skills at a time and also help me get to my first successes without tearing my hair out.

Is a simple wallet with leather stitching too ambitious?

10 Likes

You might want to start with something other than leather for the first projectā€¦you can work up to that soon, but leather has its own issuesā€¦stitching, bending, stinkingā€¦you know the gig.

(Weā€™re putting together a few beginner tutorials geared to exactly that, but theyā€™re not ready just yet.)

I will probably start with decorating up something with a simple engraveā€¦maybe a little box or a bookmark, or something in acrylic so I can see how it cuts and engraves. (Iā€™m totally new to it too!) :smile:

Oh, there are some things you need to start gathering to prepare for itā€¦

And check out the Free Laser Designs Category:

22 Likes

Without any idea about your non-laser skills I cannot comment on the appropriateness of a wallet as your first project. But with any project beyond a coaster there are two primary aspects of it: designing the pieces and assembling the pieces. Designing for a laser means creating something that will be in 3D, but is cut in 2D. Each material will have its own quirks, but the basics of designing will span all materials. Assembling what youā€™ve cut, on the other hand, will require techniques specific to your medium.

Iā€™m assuming you have no real leather working experience. If not, my apologies. You may want to consider buying a leather wallet kit from a place like Tandy leather. You can get a simple kit that comes with pre-cut pieces and everything you need to assemble it for about $30. This has the following advantages: